Texas LTC Application Fee, Renewal Fee, Discount & Waiver

Last Updated on July 25, 2023 by

Hi readers, in this post, I’ve covered all the important details that you need to know about the Texas License to Carry (LTC) application and renewal cost. In this post, readers will find the following details –

  • Basic requirements to obtain LTC a handgun
  • Cost of applying for LTC in Texas
  • Discount (if applicable)
  • Cost of renewing your license


First of all, let us check out the basic requirements that you must satisfy to obtain LTC for a handgun. Here is everything you need to know about it –  

Basic requirements for getting LTC

Texas has a fairly good LTC application process as well as system. If you manage to meet the basic requirements and complete the training program, you will be able to obtain Texas LTC for a handgun without any hiccups!   The most important conditions, which an applicant must meet are as follows –

  1. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age or on active military duty while applying for LTC
  2. He/she must meet federal requirements/qualifications to purchase a handgun

  If you meet the above-mentioned requirements, you may apply for LTC and undergo further steps. Here is how the application process looks like –  

Texas LTC application process

  1. The first step is to determine whether you meet the basic eligibility requirements and citizenship criteria
  2. If you meet all the requirements, you may visit the website of Texas Department of Public Safety and fill up the LTC application form
  3. After entering necessary details, submit the application form online
  4. After submitting the application, a candidate must undergo six hours of classroom training, and pass the written and firearm proficiency examination (few special condition applicants are exempted from this step)
  5. In the receipt as well as email communication, you will get a list of supporting documents that need to be submitted. Submit all the required supporting documents
  6. Follow the fingerprinting instructions to complete the process
  7. After scrutinizing your application, the DPS will issue your LTC within sixty days


Texas LTC for handgun application fee, renewal fee, discount and more

Status / Profile / Condition of the applicant

LTC application fee

LTC renewal fee

Active Military $0 $0
Active Texas Military Member $0 $0
Active Texas Peace Officer $0 $0
Active Railroad Peace Officer $0 $0
Active Special Ranger of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association $0 $0
Correctional Officer currently employed by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice $0 $0
County Jailer $0 $0
Honorably Retired Texas Peace officer $0 $0
Retired Railroad Peace Officer $0 $0
Retired Special Ranger of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association $0 $0
Retired Federal Officer $0 $0
Felony Prosecuting Attorney $0 $0
Juvenile Probation Officer $25 $25
Supervision Officer $25 $25
Veteran (Honorably Discharged) $25 $25
Former Reserve Law Enforcement Officer $25 $25
Active Judge $25 $25
Retired Judge $25 $25
Standard Condition $40 $40
Senior Citizen $40 $35
Indigent $40 $35
Other Prosecuting Attorney $40 $40
Protective Order $40 $40
At-Risk $40 $40
Instructor Certification $100 $100
Online Course Provider $100 $100
School Safety Certification (Only for qualified Handgun Instructors) $100 N/A

  In the table, I’ve provided the ‘category/profile’ wise list of LTC costs (application & renewal). As you can see, certain job profiles or special condition applicants can obtain a discount of complete fee waiver!

Rate this post

Leave a Comment